As Ever!


  • News Items
  • In conclusion of its 60th anniversary, CIAQ awards the Prix Claude-Hayes



In conclusion of its 60th anniversary, CIAQ awards the Prix Claude-Hayes

In conclusion of its 60th anniversary, CIAQ awards the Prix Claude-Hayes

28 April 2009 – It is with much pride that Normand Renaud, General Manager of the Centre d'insémination artificielle du Québec, and Guy Lavoie, Chairman, proceeded with the unveiling of the new Prix Claude-Hayes created to recognize the important contribution of distinguished people to the evolution and the renown of the organization.  

The unveiling was held in the presence of Mrs Liliane Arcand Hayes, spouse of the late Claude Hayes, during the presentation of CIAQ's annual report attended by the employees and several guests. Mrs Hayes was accompanied by her son Mario and her grand-daughter Éléonore, who both work for CIAQ.  

One year ago, Mr Renaud announced that on the occasion of CIAQ's 60th anniversary, such a prize would be created. Following a contest among the staff, the name that was chosen for the prize was that of its former general manager, Claude Hayes. "The men and women who had the chance to meet daily with Claude Hayes know that he was a gentleman and a man of heart, passion and humor", underlined Mr. Renaud.  

Trained as an agrologist, Claude Hayes started working at CIAQ in 1949 and he spent his whole career in the field of artificial insemination. His talents of leader and his dynamism have helped CIAQ reach its national and international scope. Among other achievements, he established policies aimed at making bovine semen and artificial insemination services available to Québec breeders and he was a pioneer in the research and development that lead to the semen freezing methods in Québec. General Manager of CIAQ from 1967 to 1982, he then became a member of its Board of Directors for ten years. Mr Hayes was also the author of a book on the famous sire Starbuck and co-author the book about the first 50 years of CIAQ.  

For this first vintage, CIAQ wanted to attribute a prize linked to each decade in the life of the organization and also to award a seventh prize to a person whose career was spread over several decades. The seven recipients are Louis-Nazaire St-Pierre, Fernand Laliberté, Gaston St-Laurent, Robert E. Ness, Léo Jacobs, Martin Caron and Robert Chicoine. A short biography of each recipient is presented below. The CIAQ Board members, management, staff as well as the guests were honored to welcome them and to underline their exceptional contribution to the evolution and the renown of the organization. Those distinguished people have greatly inspired the CIAQ staff to offer services that meet the high aspirations of Québec breeders.  


Biography of the recipients (PDF file - 19 ko) French only

The recipients of the Prix Claude-Hayes are, form the top-left to the bottom-right : Martin Caron, Léo Jacobs, Robert Chicoine, Gaston St-Laurent, Fernand Laliberté, Louis-Nazaire St-Pierre and Robert E. Ness
The committee of the Prix Claudes-Hayes : Gilbert Rioux, Agathe Drolet, Johanne Chartier, Serge Blanchette and Normand Renaud

For more information, please contact  :

Hélène Drapeau, Assistant Director of Communications and Distribution
Tel. : 450 774-1141
Fax : 450 774-9318


© 2009-2019 Ciaq, limited partnership   Privacy Policy | Web Design